Low-carb Mac’n’cheese

21 Mar

As promised, my first recipe! I forgot I was cooking for an audience and failed to take quite a few pictures including the finished product. Whatever, get over it.
There are some details you need to know about before we start this cooking adventure.

  • Pick a shredded cheese you like, I don’t care what it is. I change my cheese up but I prefer the four cheddar blend from Sargento.
  • “Stink noodles” are lifesavers because I miss pasta like a fat girl on a low-carb diet should miss pasta. They’re affectionately called stink noodles because they have a wee bit of a smell to them when they come out of the bag. I prefer the Tofu Shirataki noodles pictured below but there are a couple other brands out there. Tofu Shirataki make stink noodles in a macaroni shape and the only place I’ve seen sell the macaroni is Whole Foods.
  • 5 minutes of prep time, 45 minutes of cook time.

Low-carb Mac’n’cheese

    Makes 4 servings, 6g carbs per serving

What it’s made of:
1 cup light cream
2 cups shredded cheese
1 egg yolk
1 package macaroni stink noodles
Black pepper, salt, garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne pepper
Optional:
2 Tbsp flaxseed meal
1
What you’ll need:
Whisk
Heat resistant spatula
Small pot
Small bakeware dish

What you do:

  1. Preheat oven to 350┬░.
  2.  Drain stink noodles in a strainer and give them a good one minute wash under hot water. Put a paper towel in your bakeware, pour the noodles in, cover with another paper towel and press down. Repeat the paper towel bullshit until the noodles are bone dry.
  3. Whisk light cream and egg yolk together and cook on medium heat, stirring constantly. Keep stirring until this turns into custard and is thick enough to coat the spatula, I’ve provided pictures of what it should look like. DO NOT LET THIS BOIL.
  4. 2131

  5. Pour the custard over the dried stink noodles in the bakeware and add 1 1/2 cups of cheese and dry seasonings, use spatula to mix ingredients together. Use a pinch of all the dry seasonings and taste as you go to add more of whatever flavors you prefer, I can’t really measure what I use so figure it out. If you did the custard correctly, this mixture will not be soupy.
  6. 45

  7. Sprinkle the last 1/2 cup of cheese on top and if you’re like me and want a crispy layer, sprinkle 2 Tbsp of flaxseed meal on it as well.
  8. 6

  9. Bake for 30 minutes. * If you used the flaxseed meal to top it, bake for 30 minutes and then broil on high for about 5 minutes to get a nice crispy, nommy goodness on top.

Serve with roasted chicken and garlicy spinach for a serious comfort food fix!
7

4 Responses to “Low-carb Mac’n’cheese”

  1. Alex March 24, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

    unable to find a store locally with the macaroni shaped noodles. Any suggestions for changing the recipe for the spaghetti shaped noodles? Cooktimes, etc.

    • kelseychaos March 24, 2013 at 11:48 pm #

      Thanks for your comment Alex.
      I don’t currently have an alternative for the recipe but I’d say that if you found the Fettuccine shaped stink noodles, you could follow my recipe but with an added step of cutting the noodles to smaller pieces.

  2. Karen Sefcik June 1, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

    I just finished some “stink noodles” love them. You can get the mac shaped noodles at Sprouts, and Market Street. I just had Sprouts order me several bags of mac noodles. Great to mix in your tuna salad too! You can also order them online, but are a little pricey. Good luck Alex Thanks Kelsey…

  3. M.R. June 19, 2013 at 10:42 pm #

    I found this recipe when I googled “Low carb mac n cheese”. I was able to find the macaroni noodles at a local Asian grocery, for less than two dollars per bag. I am about to make it for the first time tonight, and I thought the tip might be helpful for someone else who isn’t sure where to buy them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

